It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:07 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Ya'll mind if I pick your brains a minute?  I have a question about scale length that I just can't quite get right in my mind.  Take for instance a 25.4 scale.  

Is the .4 actually a quarter inch?  So 25.4 x 2 = 50 and one half inch?  How does that work?

I graduated high school in 1975 and have long forgot how to cipher….lol

Okeh, next question…..for compensation of the saddle….I know you measure from inside nut (exactly where the string rests) to inside saddle, but how do you calculate the exact measurement to rotate the saddle in the bridge?  Lets say if your low E string is resting off the twelfth fret 5mm, do you move your saddle back 5mm from the stop to compensate for the 5mm distance you have to move the string down?  Which in turn would move the high E the same distance assuming the middle of the saddle is the pivot point.  Hey, I just had an idea......or would you use the Pythagorean Theorem? you know, top of twelfth fret to bottom of string to saddle is a right triangle.  From saddle back to fret is the hypotenuse. You could solve for "A" if you measured the hypotenuse and knew the string height.  Is it really this complicated?

Anyhoo, I have all kinds of these crazy little thoughts going thru my brain.  Hope you don’t mind if I throw a few out.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:23 am 
Walnut
Walnut

The .4 is a decimal value - 4/10 of an inch.

Which equals approx. 13/32 of an inch.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:36 am 
Walnut
Walnut

[QUOTE=DaveTaylor]The .4 is a decimal value - 4/10 of an inch.

Which equals approx. 13/32 of an inch.[/QUOTE]