It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

Post subject: New here...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:42 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Hi, i just became interested in building a guitar, but i have no experience/idea how to and was wondering if ne one could get me started with some tips/designs/tools that i will need etc... any help would be appreciated

thanks,
andy

Post subject: Re: New here...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:52 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Andy
Last Name: Zimmerman
City: San Diego
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 92103
Focus: Build
Welcome Andy from another Andy
The OLF is a great place. All levels of experience here.
Most recommend starting with a kit first to get a feel for the construction of a guitar.
Several of the OLF sponsors including John Hall, LMI and Stew Mac make nice kits.
Just ask questions and we will be glad to help

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:54 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Lillian
Last Name: Fuller-Watson
State: WA
Hi Andy and welcome to the forum.

Can you tell us a bit more? What is your previous woodworking experiences? How are you set tool wise? What are you interested in building. "Guitar" covers a lot of ground.

Tips huh? Well, start by reading all you can get your hands on. Go through the archives. Check out the Tutorial page. Bear in mind that we just did a major move and we are still unpacking, putting things back where they belong. So, check it out frequently over the next couple of months.

And remember, you can't build just one.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:16 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

wow, thanks for the fast and help full responses, just one more question, could i have the links to those kits u mentioned?