Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:03 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Jay
Last Name: De Rocher
City: Bothell
State: Washington
Is anyone else here going to be attending the show in Portland this weekend? I'm heading south with three guitars to show including one I just strung up for the first time yesterday. I'm looking forward to seeing a bunch of cool instruments and meeting other builders from this part of the world (heavy representation from Oregon).

The show is open to the public Saturday and Sunday afternoons. I have a question for guitar show veterans here. This is my first time exhibiting my guitars and on the very slight off-chance that one of the General Public might wish to part with their hard earned dollars in exchange for one of my guitars, I'm wondering what the best (and worst) option(s) for carrying out a transaction would be. Has anyone here dealt with that situation and have advice? My experience so far is limited to transactions with the people I built guitars for.

Attachment:
NWHMIE postcard .jpg

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

These users thanked the author J De Rocher for the post: DannyV (Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:08 am)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:09 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Pat
Last Name: Foster
Focus: Build
Jay,

That's a nice low-key show, with a lot of variety of instruments, and Cyndy Burton and crew are the best. I like that it's not a glitzy show, though it does attract some great builders. I've shown there 4 or 5 times, but had to drop out this year. I've always had a good time there.

I can't give much advice on payment, having taken only cash or checks from regulars who have visited my tables in the past.

Have fun!

Pat

http://www.patfosterguitars.com

These users thanked the author Pat Foster for the post: pgroneck (Mon May 01, 2017 10:59 pm)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:02 am