Walnut
Walnut

First name: Roy
Last Name: Machin
City: Mexborough
State: South Yorkshire
Zip/Postal Code: S64 0HW
Focus: Build
Hi, I`m hoping for advice. I have filled my previous six guitars using pumice and shellac with good results. I use French polish to finish. I am about to pore fill my latest build and I am considering giving epoxy a try, probably Z-poxy finishing resin.
My concern is that if I need to carry out finish repairs in future and use pumice in the process then I may encounter problems with epoxy being lifted into the shellac.
Has anyone experienced this or is it not a problem?

Thanks

Roy.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:55 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Bryan
Last Name: Bear
City: St. Louis
State: Mo
I have no experience to offer but am wondering why you would have to go to pumice for a finish repair? Would you not just be French polishing your repair?

Take care of your feet, and your feet will take care of you.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:27 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Bryan, I`ve used the Milburns` tutorial to learn to French polish and they use pumice in scratch repair.

https://www.guitarsint.com/article/FAQs

I understand that they are talking about scratch repair to the top and also that the aim is not to abrade through to the wood. My query only really relates to the back and sides (Indian Rosewood). Whether to leave a layer of epoxy on the surface as a safeguard or to sand back leaving just the pores filled. I know that I could test on scrap but the results after a few days curing may not be the same as those after a few years.
I wondered if anyone had been there and done that.
Pros and cons?

Roy

Roy

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:34 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Brad
Last Name: Combs