Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

Post subject: Spruce Density
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:54 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Adam
Last Name: Schultz
City: Calgary
I just finished deflection testing my soundboard. The only benchmark I could find (since this is my first time) was to use 5lbs of weight with the wood supported 18" apart. The idea is to end up with around .25" of deflection. After sanding my top a bit I ended up at .110" thick, which I think is fairly average for sitka? Anyway, just for learning purposes, I measured the density of the soundboard and came up with 479 kg/m3. The wood database website says spruce averages 425 kg/m3. So what I'm wondering is how out to lunch my measurements are? Do you find that spruce used for luthiery is denser than average? It would make sense to me since I've read that with spruce, density tracks fairly evenly with stiffness.

PS. I know that this is way overboard for a beginner builder, so no need to tell me that. I just figured, I have all the stuff for taking these measurements, so why not? It's just one more learning point. The subject of density vs stiffness is of interest to me because I plan on building a mandolin next, and there really can't be many benchmarks for mandolin plates. I'm thinking I can use the density of my mandolin top blank to decide what set of "numbers" I should carve the top to.

Post subject: Re: Spruce Density
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:32 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Ed
Last Name: Bond
City: Vancouver
Focus: Build
That's definitely on the denser side but by no means off the chart. I've had as low as 300 and some slightly above 500.

.110 is bang on factory thickness. So you've got a pretty good starting reference...

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:14 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Greg
Last Name: Maxwell
City: Mount Vernon
State: Ohio
What does your Sitka top weigh at final thickness without braces?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:58 pm 
Mahogany