Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Ed
Last Name: Minch
City: Chestertown
State: MD
Zip/Postal Code: 21620
Focus: Build
I am a true amateur, having built 8 instruments over 6 years and never having sold one. I recently had some epoxy supplies that I offered and Clay S. responded. He said he would use them in the construction of a small boat. I sent them to him and noted that his address was about an hour and a half away. And I also mentioned that I volunteer on a tall ship in town and that we were given a couple of barely-started small boats as a donation and would like to find them a home.

Clay and his brother Dave made the trip, got a tour of our tall ship, took one of the boats home and will be back for the other, and then we retired to my house a few blocks away and talked guitars. I learned a bunch and had a great time. Clay is also an amateur, but a very serious one. He makes all sorts of stringed instruments, not just guitars, and we talked woods and techniques.

I got to show him the Brazilian Rosewood that I was recently given as 2 boards, and another OLFer was kind enough to cut into sets for/with me. That shop was was a couple hours away, and very informative to visit - the guitars under construction were just beautiful.

So if you live near someone who builds, go see them or have them over. It's a guaranteed good time and it's happened to me twice in a month.

Ed

Last edited by Ruby50 on Sat May 04, 2019 8:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

These users thanked the author Ruby50 for the post (total 2): dpetrzelka (Sat May 04, 2019 10:41 am) • Michaeldc (Sat May 04, 2019 8:57 am)

Post subject: Re: Visit
PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2019 8:40 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: Lenoir City
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37772
Focus: Repair