Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 3:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 12:53 pm 
Koa
Koa

As I recall, many have had the experience that some dehumidifiers last only a brief time and others are more durable. Please give me recommendations for a portable dehumidifier for one room.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:51 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Focus: Repair
I'm looking for a dehumidifier too, and found this recommendation by violinmaker David Burgess:

Frigidaire Energy Star 30 pint-per-day dehumidifier, product #FAD301NWD
http://www.burgessviolins.com/products.html

and he has a page on the subject of humidity that might be of interest:
http://www.burgessviolins.com/humidity.html

I have no experience with the unit he recommends, but remember my last one was very noisy,
and hope to find a quieter and more efficient one for my 1200 square foot workroom.

These users thanked the author Carey for the post: wbergman (Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:54 am)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:04 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: Lenoir City
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37772
I've got this one from Amazon. They still sell them for $220.

Frigidaire FAD704DWD Energy Star 70-pint Dehumidifier

I bought it in Sept 2013 and it has been running 24/7/365 ever since then. I have it hooked up so that it will drain outside of the shop. I also disassemble it every year and clean out the dust. I don't find the noise objectionable, about the same as a small window AC unit. I wouldn't call it quiet but have no problem listening to the radio.

These users thanked the author SteveSmith for the post: wbergman (Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:54 am)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:25 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Jay
Last Name: De Rocher
City: Bothell
State: Washington
SteveSmith wrote: