PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:37 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Heath
Last Name: Blair
City: Visalia
State: California
Focus: Build
Is finishing the* most frustrating part of building? Yes. Yes, it is.

Have I had issues with every* step on this build? Yes. Yes, I have.

I’m building a soprano uke and I’m having trouble with the shellac finish. The shellac is staying relatively soft. A thumb left on the surface for a few seconds will leave a light imprint. The wood is mango. No pore-fill. Straight Zinsser SealCoat shellac. Can is brand new. Lot code is SS 1111, though I can’t figure out what that means. Shellac has dried for two days.

I’m applying the shellac in a French polish style with a muneca. 2 lb. cut straight from the can. A dab of olive oil on the muneca occasionally, but I’ve found it mostly unnecessary. Finish looks decent* after spiriting off. This is my first attempt at an all shellac French polish style finish. There are moments where I think, this is the worst, I’ll never do this again and moments where I go, hey, this is actually pretty great. I leveled and polished through the grits on the back and the finish was just about where I’d like it. I know those with more experience, don’t need to sand, but I did. Then I started noticing the finger prints left in the finish.

What gives?

Heart-broken,

Heath

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 2:49 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Eric
Last Name: Reid
City: Ben Lomond
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 95005
Stop adding finish. Let it dry for a week, and see if it has hardened up. If it still prints after two weeks, you'll need to sand back heavily--back to wood would be best--and start over. The problem comes from building the finish too quickly. Keep the shellac well thinned (viscosity like water), and apply very thin coats with at least three hours between sessions. If you build the finish too quickly, it can take years to dry.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 3:21 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Tom
Last Name: Rein
City: Saline