All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

Post subject: French Polishing
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:58 am 
Koa
Koa

Well, isn't funny how things come FULL circle. Here's what I mean:
As a new builder I started with shellac, trying to French polish. I went through the Tom Bills class and took lots of notes (because you can't download the dang thing; subscription only which is great for avoiding piracy but terrible if you want to remember any of it). I got a pretty good finish.

Over the next 14 guitars I tried several other finishing methods from nitro to EM6000 (which is pretty dang good honestly).

Fast forward to year 3. I'm on guitar #16 and thinking of trying to French polish again. I really believe my patience in the process has grown since I've been building, and think it will yield a better FP.
I'm making a guitar that will need a lighter finish because of some design features (I want to keep it as free as possible), but I think I need a refresher course on the process; especially pore filling technique, what types of oils to add when - vegetable - walnut and such, and that kind of thing.

So, can anyone recommend a good course? Download of DVD? I know Robbie has one, that may be on sale, then there's the non-downloadable Bills (which is EXCELLENT and is REALLY well produced). I appreciate all the experience that this forum offers.

I can't imagine trying to get better at this in the internet dark ages or before (pre 80s).

Thanks.
B. Snow

Post subject: Re: French Polishing
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:24 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Don
Last Name: Parker
City: Charleston
State: West Virginia
Zip/Postal Code: 25314
Focus: Build
Snow—

I French Polished my first 7 guitars, with varying success. I’m in the middle of experimenting with an epoxy pore fill (Silvertip) and Enduro Var, both brushed on. I like this a lot. It is better protection for less work.