PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:51 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Phil
Last Name: Hartline
City: Warrior
State: Alabama
Focus: Build
I want to use shellac to finish my next guitar. I have two kinds, a "Light Pure Buttonlac" and a "Dewaxed Super Blond," both from WellerMart. I have not used this brand before, so I have no experience with these particular ones.

Looking for a pseudo French polish, more of a hand rubbed satin finish. Any suggestions as to which of these will be best for he finish?

http://www.oleninstruments.com

"Those who tilt at windmills are only considered insane by those who can't see the dragon."

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 7:00 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Either one sounds good to me. Most luthiers it seems like dewaxed shellac so that is something to consider with the buttonlac as that is probably has wax in it. You could dewax it but that's just one more step in the finish process. Adn really you don't need to dewax it unless you are going to put a finish over it. But 'light and pure' and super blonde are probably close in color? So basically just pick one and go for it.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:09 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

I've always used the dewaxed shellac, but mostly as a barrier coat, and very occasionally as a final finish. Some people prefer the waxed shellac for french polishing. The light, pure button lac pictured on the Wellermart site seems to be somewhat garnet colored. It will be much less noticeable when it is spread out in a thin layer, but may impart some color to the finish.
You might want to make some test pieces. Mix up a half ounce of each and see which you like better. 1/2 ounce of flakes in 1/3rd cup of alcohol would be a 2 lb cut. Add another 1/3rd of a cup of alcohol if you want a 1 lb.cut (4 fl.oz. total)

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:13 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Phil
Last Name: Hartline
City: Warrior
State: Alabama