PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2020 3:41 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Ken
Last Name: Nagy
City: Goodrich
State: MI
Focus: Build
I've been playing my arch top for 3 months now. I just noticed that the g intonation is sharp, Playing octave A's with the second string is jarring. Yes, I THOUGHT I had that all set when I set it up, but I changed strings from very light nickel? jazz strings to very heavy nylons. Funny, I can't even find the old ones now. I didn't touch the bridge at all besides raising it up for clearance, and placing it where the e strings played octaves at the 12th fret. I checked them the yesterday while practicing, and decided I had to fix it.

The clip on tuner doesn't work in cents, just has bars. At the 12th, the E's are off one, the A and B are right on, The D is off 2 and the G is off 5! It's a big, fat string. The top of the bridge is about 2-2.4 mm wide. How wide should they be? Or how thin can you take them. I have to file the one back quite a bit.

The strings are 2.15-2.7 off the 12th fret. The G was 2.6 but I lowered it some, it's 2.5, and I was filing it back, but I don't now how far to go.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:29 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Mark
Last Name: McLean
City: Sydney
State: New South Wales
Zip/Postal Code: 2145