Post subject: Inlay Question...
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 10:16 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Ed
Last Name: Bond
City: Vancouver
Focus: Build
Well after 20 some odd years avoiding it, someone suckered me into pearl fb inlays. Simple Martin diamonds so not to bad but...

How tight do you make them? Is it prudent to leave a space for humidity changes?

Post subject: Re: Inlay Question...
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 10:40 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

I've never made any allowance for humidity for pearl inlays. I think most of us like to make the inlay cavity as tight to the inlay as possible.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:02 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Jay
Last Name: De Rocher
City: Bothell
State: Washington
I'm not an expert, but I was taught by someone who is very good at it. I was taught to make the recess the inlay fits into as tight as you can get it. However, when inlaying into dark wood like ebony, you can get away with a slightly looser fit by gluing the inlay in with black epoxy or CA, or with matching wood dust in CA or epoxy. If you are inlaying into lighter wood like maple, the tighter you can get it the better to avoid having whatever you use as adhesive show as an uneven dark line around the inlay. You can try to color match your adhesive to the lighter colored wood, but it's not easy to get a dead on match that won't show.

If those diamond inlays are going into ebony or another dark wood, I was taught a trick that helps with the sharp points since it's impossible to rout sharp corners. If you rout the corners with a tiny bit (like 1/32") to make a tiny circular pocket that extends just slightly outside the diamond outline right at each tip of the diamond, you can get a nice clean inlay when using black epoxy or CA.

These users thanked the author J De Rocher for the post (total 2): Colin North (Fri Nov 13, 2020 3:22 am) • meddlingfool (Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:33 pm)