Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 1:16 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

I know I said htis before, but I am a novice at reapir etc. I do it to my own guitars as a hobby, so my questions may be rudimentary to you guys.

Anyway I have an acoustic that a number of the top and back braces were knocked off in a fall. I just thought I'd clean up the residue glue and re-glue. Any tricks for holding the drying braces in place other than long clamps?

Also, any idea why those old Gibson LGO's - I think they had ladder bracing - all have the bridge pulling up. I have one where I re-attached a new rosewood bridge (the braces seem fine) but under normal tuning the bridge pulls up the top. Is there a fix to this? More braces -- but don't I then change the sound?

Thx

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:35 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Jim Howell

I have a couple of these:

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Clamps,_support_tools/Brac e_Repair_Jack.html

They work very well in places that you just can't get a regular clamp.  The biggest 'secret' to regluing, IMHO, is getting the old glue cleaned out of the joint before re-gluing.  Getting your hands on Dan Erlewine's "Guitar Player Repair Guide" is a good place to start.

Never messed with old Gibson's so I can't help out there.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:44 am 
Old Growth Brazilian
Old Growth Brazilian

First you said many of the braces fell off in a fall. Is this a ladder braced Gibson? If not what and exactly what braces?.

This is not an easy repair in particular if the braces are in the lower bout. The residue needs to be cleaned off from both the top or back wood and the brace as much as possible. What type glue was originally used. This may mean the difference in whether your new glue up will take or not.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:39 pm 
Walnut