Official Luthiers Forum!

Solely owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:47 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:15 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 7:17 am
Posts: 622
Location: Santo, TX
I'm thinking about routing part of my DC piping under the floor of my pier-and-beam shop. Anybody see a reason not too? Only question I have is one of condensation and pluggage, guess I could put a cleanout at each end just before it goes back up into the shop?

What I'm trying to accomplish is simply to clean up the walkspace in my shop by having the DC piping come up through the floor at my centrally located tools like the TS, etc, rather than having to run over from a wall. This is a new system install, so I have a clean slate right now.

_________________
Wes McMillian
Santo, TX
http://www.wesmcmillian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:18 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:03 pm
Posts: 724
Location: NE Oklahoma, United States
First name: Steve
Last Name: Walden
City: Bartlesville
State: Oklahoma
Zip/Postal Code: 74006
Country: USA
Focus: Build
Status: Amateur
The only problem I would see is if the crawl space is not weather protected.  In the cold season, the warm shop air might condense some water on the walls of the pipe.  Insulation may minimze that possibility.

_________________
Steve Walden
Aspiring Builder,
Bartlesville, OK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:25 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:05 am
Posts: 9160
Location: United States
First name: Waddy
Last Name: Thomson
City: Charlotte
State: NC
Focus: Build
Status: Semi-pro
As I recall, up and over is better than down and up again.  When you go down and back up again, it creates places for dust buildup inside the pipe, and that restricts airflow.  I stand to be corrected on this, since I am working from a vague memory of something I read.  Maybe on Bill Pentz's site.

_________________
Waddy

Waddy Thomson Guitars

Photobucket Build Album Library

Sound Clips of most of my guitars


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:50 pm 
Offline
Koa
Koa

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:13 am
Posts: 1398
Location: United States
If you've got sufficient suction and accessible cleanouts in your line, there should be no problem with this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:21 pm 
Offline
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:50 am
Posts: 3149
Location: Canada
My experience, and I have a bit with plugged pipes as my DC (with a cyclone)is a bit small and the run to the resaw is a bit far and the wood I typically collect dust from is a bit wet, is that cleanouts won't do you a lot of good. This isn't backed up water like in a waste water system, that has a bit of head that will carry it through when the blockage is removed. You need some way of clearing the blockage and then getting things going again. For me, that has meant taking some pipes apart and banging them out and putting them back together again. As long as you can do that from under your shop you should be OK.

Good luck!

Shane

_________________
Canada


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:10 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 7:17 am
Posts: 622
Location: Santo, TX
Thanks, all, seems worthwhile to try so I think I'll go for it. Worst case scenario, it doesn't work and I run it inside. Just wondered if someone else had tried it.

As far as the low points, I figure it shouldn't be much worse than putting a run on the floor (I'm thinking like for the belly pan on my TS). That run would still have to go down then up to the DC. Going under the shop would only be a few inches lower, but would be more exposed to the elements.

Just trying to eliminate some tripping hazards.

_________________
Wes McMillian
Santo, TX
http://www.wesmcmillian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:28 am 
Offline
Koa
Koa

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 1667
While you're at it, run the power for the table saw in the floor, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:40 am 
Offline
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 7:17 am
Posts: 622
Location: Santo, TX
Yessir, that's in the works. Along with power from the floor to my island work bench (which you also talked me in to) with receptacles on boths sides.

And, of course, doing the split receptacle thing for the day I upgrade my TS to a beefier 220V unit.

_________________
Wes McMillian
Santo, TX
http://www.wesmcmillian.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
phpBB customization services by 2by2host.com