PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:25 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Joe
Last Name: Beaver
City: Lake Forest
State: California
Focus: Build
I'm a user of KTM 4 with fair results. I've run out it and I'm in the market for a water based finish. I might try KTM 9 or Target Ultima, they both sound pretty good to me.

I'm a real novice when it comes to spraying finishes. I have been using a Sears siphon spray gun (about $90) with my compressor and it seems to work OK, but I suspect I may not know what I'm missing.

I'd be willing to spend $200 to $350 on new equipment for spraying water base if it will make the job easier/better.

Any suggestions as to what equipment I should be looking at?

Thank you very much for any advice you might have.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 5:14 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Joe, I'm currently shopping/studying HVLP conversion guns to use with compressors.

The thing with HVLP is low pressure (8-15 psi) and you get very little over-spray. It isn't so bad with KTM which isn't hyper expensive, but can definitely make a big difference when you use expensive finishes like catalized polyester and such... I'm not sure what size 'tip' you'd need for water based finishes. Maybe 1.5 mm, or 1mm. You can always call the number provided here and ask:Appolo info

I'm no expert myself, but I'm sure that now you know of the Sears model's performance, you'd be amazed at the quality of the finish you can lay down with a good gun.

For the kind of money you're willing to spend, look on ebay for a nice Apollo, Sata or Binks gun. I've seen some awesome guns, both new and used, for under 200$. What you want to look for is all stainless construction (not just the tip).

I'm leaning towards the Apollo's myself. Don't really know why, they just seem to jump at me. Although the Binks are nice too... and the Sata's... Hmmm... decisions, decisions...

Hope this helps.

AlAlain Desforges38948.0961574074

Post subject: