Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Matt
Last Name: Meyer
City: Muscatine
State: Iowa
Zip/Postal Code: 52761
Focus: Build
I need some help deciding on the software to get in order to do 3D design. I am a teacher so I have the following options available:

Solidworks Student Edition- $99.95 for a one year license ( but it won't import from full versions of Solidworks)

Rhino 3D- educational discount $195 (purchase price/ not a yearly license)

Inventor- free to educators-yearly renewal

I have the CNC Guitar videos that use and recommend Solidworks.
What would you recommend?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:39 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Trevor
Last Name: Lewis
City: Crownsville
State: MD
Zip/Postal Code: 21032
What type of class is it?

If this is an engineering class - SolidWorks or Inventor. SolidWorks is better software, but free is hard to beat...!

If it is an industrial design/graphics class - Rhino. Inventor would also work fine here as well.

Trev

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:21 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Stuart
Last Name: Gort
I have Rhino, Solidworks, and Mastercam. Even though all three will model I find Solidworks far more intuitive than Rhino with Mastercam being ridiculous in this regard. Having acquired all of them more or less at the same time and made about the same amount of effort initially to model with each...I gravitated rather quickly to Solidworks for modeling. Mastercam is my only cam software and I use it extensively for tool path generation...but Rhino is totally neglected now. Rhino has a module available for it called "Expander" which is the only reason I still use it at all.

StuMusic

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 4:46 pm 
Koa
Koa