Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:46 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: About Bracewood
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:13 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Lately a few people have called to ask me some questions on bracewood. A recent request resulted in me agreeing to post some thoughts on bracewood. Chris Paulick has done a great job with his videos (look in the tutorial section) and much of this may be a repeat but sometimes seeing things in different fashions helps get the point across. So before I start, I need to clear the air! To date I am mostly a tonewood producer (coming from a long woodworking background (rather than logging!)). I have a couple of guitars under way, one has the box closed up and the other not yet. So from a guitar building standpoint I am not experienced. But I have had the great fortune of association with some very fine builders and authours, such as Bill Cumpiano, Roger Siminoff, John Greven and many others. So I have researched most aspects of building extensively and discussed them at great length. Enough on that.

Bracewood. Sawn or Split? I will show you how I produce it and tell you why.

For Sawn stock I start with a split wedge, fallout from producing guitar top billets. They look like this:

Attachment:
billet.jpg

I take this billet and clamp it into my sliding carriage on my resaw and slice off the sap wood, following a grain line. I have a laser that aids in this process. Here is the bottom sawn:

Attachment:
Sawn Bottom.jpg

Next I flip the piece 90 degrees to get face square to the bottom, like this:

Attachment:
Squared.jpg

Once I have two sawn faces, the bottom and one side, with the piece displaying nice edge grain up the side, I start to saw "boards" off the billet to 3/4", like this:

Attachment:
Slicing.jpg

Once they are cut you will have pieces that look like these, and this is typical recovery from a wedged billet: