Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Bob
Last Name: Moore
City: Nacogdoches
State: Tx
Zip/Postal Code: 75965
Focus: Build
I thought I'd share my building of a carriage for moving the guitar body around the binding tower that John Parchem so graciously donated. I studied the LMI and StewMac carriages as well as some I've seen here or on another site. It consists of a base and 4 arms that extend out with risers at the end. The risers have blocks that move up and down to level the guitar for binding. I'm making up my own terms here.

I started with some 3/4" stock that I had. Not sure what wood this is, but it's probably something I should have built something nice from instead of this. But it's what I had.

I used my Delta Planer and planed one board down to about 1/2" thickness. Then cut three 2" wide strips and two 6" wide pieces. They were all about 22" long.

Here, I've glued up the two larger pieces to make the base. I had trimmed the base to 8"x15".

The three 2" pieces were cut this way: four 8" long x 2" wide for the arms, and four 6" long and 2" wide for the risers (these I later cut to 5" long), and 8 small 2"x2" blocks.

The arms and risers have to have a channel routed down the center to allow a 1/4" bolt to slide thru. So I made a jig that would hold them still and put barriers at either end to stop the channel before it exited the part. No measuring here, just guestimation.

Here's one being routed:

And after the rout was cut:

I took the arms and cut a channel sideways that would allow the risers to sit in, and glued them up and clamped. I also doubled up the pieces for the blocks and glued them as well. It's funny (to me) that 2 of the assemblies were pretty well vertical, but 2 leaned a bit inward. Not really an issue, but struck me that it came out even.