Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:56 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

So this is my first guitar project (I've barely even cut wood before this...so I'm a complete noob). It's the Stew-Mac dreadnought kit. I'm doing the brackets on the sound board, and yesterday I put the bridge plate in.

Like an idiot I used a cull that is too big so I couldn't see the bridge plate once it was down, so the bridge plate must have moved when I put the cull on it and the clamped it down.

My heart pretty much sank this morning when I took it all off.

As you can see in the picture below, the bridge place is pushed back a bit and doesn't go into the notches of the X brackets.

Is this hugely detrimental? my big fear is when I go to the drill the holes in it that will fall out because the notches aren't helping to hold it in. I really don't want to get the entire guitar completed and then have some small error from before completely ruin the whole thing.
Picture: http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenadamgoes/6238562486/
Any advice?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 10:29 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Tony
Last Name: C
City: Brooklyn
State: NY
Focus: Build
Welcome to the forum.

First, you are gluing the braces, not the brackets. It helps to be clear if we all use the same terms. Also, you use a caul to glue things, not a cull.
With that out of the way, here is my opinion on this, and I am in no way an expert, so take this for what it's worth.