Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be Nice to our new friends! Remember, everybody starts somewhere!

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:17 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: BlackFire
Last Name: 007
Hi There. I am a high school student.(18) about to go to college. I had this Idea of making a guitar over my summer break. I own two guitars. One I bought at a flea market. The other I bought from a neighbor. They are both classical guitars. They are not high end guitars tough. They're made in Japan and are probably more than 30 years old. One is a "Bruno Ventura" the other a "Crown Professional".

So I want to make a Flamenco guitar and dont know where to start. My goal is to make a Flamenco blanca. I take a Drafting class so I might be able to design a plan for the guitar. It will be based off the other ones except for a slimmer neck and different tonewood.

I need help on either starting with a Kit or Starting from scratch. And If I do start from scratch I would like to know what woods should I use and exactly what tools would I need.
I have alot of tools in the garage but none like a bandsaw.
I will ask about the process of making it later once I get everything I need.

Also: Is there by any chance any "Oud" players in here. Im really interested in buying one or making one too. I saw a Lute soeone made in here it looked nice. Specially the soundhole.

Anyways thanks.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:21 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Freeman
Last Name: Keller
Focus: Build
Welcome to OLF, Black. I would suggest that you post your question at the main guitar building forum. I know that there are several folks who do build flamenco guitars but since this sub forum is dedicated to kits they may not check here.