Post subject: Leather?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:42 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Scot
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 91776
Focus: Build
I have a question about adding leather to the top of a guitar either inplace of a pickgaurd or just as a design. I have an idea of adding leather to the top of a guitar and want to know if this is a bad idea?

I have seen a couple other guitars with leather accents (at least it looked like leather) I only saw pictures of them, not in the real thing in person. But none of them were as lets just say "involved" as I am thinking about doing.

My concern is that it will destroy the sustain that my guitar might normally have. Or hurt the tone in some way. I have no technical knowledge to base this on. It is juist a concern I have.

I have an amazing design in mind, but if it will hurt the tone or playability of the guitar in anyway then I will have to scrap the idea. A great looking guitar is just a chunk of wood and metal if it doesn't sound good.

So has anyone here added leather to a guitar on any of your designs before? If so what was the outcome?

Thank you for you help in advance. Sorry for the multi threads I've started. I just have a million quiestions since I am just starting out. I have a good amount of ideas for projects, I just need to know if some of the ideas are even feasible or not.

Post subject: Re: Leather?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:13 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Lillian
Last Name: Fuller-Watson
State: WA
Scot, what kind of guitar are you talking about?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:28 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Corky
Last Name: Long
City: Mount Kisco
State: NY
Scot-
I'm a novice, and many others on the forum have the experience, data, and expertise to provide good advice.

Nevertheless, I'm going to give you my two cents anyway. laughing6-hehe