Walnut

First name: Mark
Last Name: Harrington
City: Santa Rosa
State: calif
Zip/Postal Code: 95403
Focus: Build
Howdy,
I'm new to the site and have what is probably a very unusual electric bass retrofit design I'd like to build. I am an amateur, I have a wee bit of experience with Luthier work having when I made an electric-acoustic Ibanez classical guitar into a fretless which was fairly successful, not enough oomph for me even when amped though.

I'm starting with a fretless fender jazz bass. I like to play it with open "modal" tuning such DADG. I like to play some double stops, and 2 finger chords. I tend to play pretty far up the neck, and am not really playing a low traditional bass style. I like the harmonics and dark, rich tones I get out of it but would like to have it set up to play higher scale. If I put a capo on it, say about 5 to 7 frets up it is closer to what I want.

I am thinking i could bold on another neck which is shorter, and maybe set it up with 5 different gauge strings, still shooting for DADG or similar tuning.

I am on a budget, as I learned not to put many $$ into experimental projects that may not work out. If I had great success I might have a new instrument professionaly made.

Suggestions welcomed...thanks in advance. Markus

I won't go on writing too much before I find out if anyone has some suggestions, or interest in this esoteric project.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:48 am 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

The problem with putting on a shorter-scale neck is that you would have to move the bridge forward to compensate. On a Jazz bass, it would probably end up on the far side of the bridge pickup.
You would likely need to have the neck custom made as I don't think such short scales are available as stock items. The capo might be your answer until you can spring for a custom instrument.
Good luck with whatever you choose!

In Markham,Virginia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:06 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Martin
Last Name: Edwards