Walnut
Walnut

First name: Steve
Last Name: Jarman
City: Erith
State: Kent
Zip/Postal Code: DA8 3NA
Focus: Build
Sorry guys if this has been done before, or done to death!

The last instruments I built were around 15+ years ago, a selection of basses, telecasters etc, so I'm no newbie.

Would anyone care to eleborate their thoughts on a 'traditional' truss rod, i.e. routed channel a little deeper in the middle etc... against the 10mm aluminium channel? When I made them they were always the traditional type - perhaps I was being snobbish?

For my purposes it will befor a jazz bass neck with ebony board, adjustable at the body end, to keep the head clean.

Thanks,
Steve
UK

Post subject: Re: Which Truss Rod?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:17 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Freeman
Last Name: Keller
I'm totally addicted to double acting rods from StewMac or LMI. Instead of trying to compress the neck they actually apply pressure against the full length of the fretboard helping to "shape" the neck. They are very smooth operating. They have a small allen key adjuster that can be routed into the headstock without making a big cavity like a Gibson style nut or you can put the adjuster in the body. I do body for all my acoustics, but since its a hassle to take the neck off or the pickups out of an electric I usually do a headstock access. They do make them with a spoke type adjuster that might work for you

http://www.stewmac.com/Materials_and_Su ... s_Rod.html

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:33 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Brian
Last Name: Howard
City: Magnolia
State: Delaware
Zip/Postal Code: 19962
Focus: Repair
Unless I am building a vintage spec recreation I always use a 2 way rod like those from LMI, Allied etc.

You never know what you are capable of until you actually try.

https://www.howardguitarsdelaware.com/

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2015 7:00 am 
Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Hesh
Last Name: Breakstone