Mahogany

First name: Tyson
Last Name: K
City: Stony plain
State: Ab
Zip/Postal Code: T7Z3A1
Focus: Repair
Hi everybody,
I am a bit a a newbie to guitar making/restoring and I have been looking at electric kit guitars for a while now. One that I really love is this one a Les Paul hollow body Image
My question for you guys is one: is this kit ok? I know the electronics are less than nice but I have seen some stuff from a custom guitar shop in the uk that rewired some crap pickups and what not and came up with something not too bad. It is basswood with a maple top and maple neck. Question number 2: the finish I would love if at all possible is something like this Image or this Image
What should you do to get a similar finish? And what products can I use? The cheaper/easier the better.

Thanks guys!

Tyson k

Post subject: Re: Les Paul Guitar kit
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:54 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Brian
Last Name: Howard
City: Magnolia
State: Delaware
Zip/Postal Code: 19962
Tyson.k wrote:
What should you do to get a similar finish? And what products can I use? The cheaper/easier the better.

Finishing is not easy and is not the place to be cheap and save a few bucks....The finish you showed was most likely sprayed with shading lacquer.

You may be able to get the same effect with a dye stain direct on the wood. But if the maple top is a veneer instead of a full cap you will get only one shot at it.

So my questions back to you are, Do you have spray equipment? What type of wood finishing experience do you have?

You never know what you are capable of until you actually try.

https://www.howardguitarsdelaware.com/

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:41 am 
Mahogany
Mahogany