It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 8:51 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Samuel
Last Name: He
Focus: Build
Hi guys and gals, it's my first time here. I'm currently working on a caster style bolt-on neck electric guitar, and just prior to gluing the fingerboard onto the neck, I accidentally dripped a few drops of grease on the wood (Bike chain grease), and it's immediately stained the wood. Even after wiping, dark areas of residue can be seen (Wiping also spread the stain quite a bit..).

The neck is hard maple, and the fingerboard is gaboon ebony. The glue I will be using is HHG, and since its water based, I'm afraid it may be affected by the grease stains.

Is there any way I can clean off enough of the grease stains that it won't affect gluing? I know acetone is used to remove oils from oily woods like cocobolo, however the neck blank i'm using has proved to be very unstable (bending/warping when cut or shaped), so I'm afraid an evaporative substance such as acetone might displace enough water on one side that the neck takes on an ugly bend. I've also got a lot of mom's make-up face-oil remover wipes, lol

Anyways, any ideas, guys?

Thanks ahead, Sam.

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2017 1:03 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Bryan
Last Name: Bear
City: St. Louis
State: Mo
Naptha. It is an oil base solvent so it won't raise the grain and shouldn't swell or warp your wood. A heavy grease like this might be tough but I accidentally go mineral oil soaked all the way through a back set and a few treatments with naphtha did the trick. I would apply a liberal amount and try to gently scrub off what you can to get the heavy stuff but try not to spread it around too much. Then you can just keep applying it and letting it flash off. Eventually it should dissolve the grease and take it with it when it evaporates.