All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 3:30 pm 
Koa
Koa

City: Escondido
State: CA
Zip/Postal Code: 92029
Focus: Build
I am so not an electric guitar guy, that I realized I don't know what to do with the darn plug on the thing!

So someone suggested I wire the SBT piezo and a floating magnetic pickup to a single stereo jack on the guitar. OK. Sounds super cool! So now what? [headinwall] idunno

The only amps I've ever owned have a single mono input. Where and how to I mix the signal to send it to an amp?

I know this must seem colossally stupid to most of you. But I just don't have much experience in the whole amp/electric world.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 3:41 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Steve
Last Name: Courtright
While I am no expert, I think these two pups produce very different signals. You can't just gang them together and hope for the best.

Here are some resources I found:

http://www.cigarboxnation.com/forum/top ... ic-pickups

http://www.seymourduncan.com/forum/show ... ic-pickups

https://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/show ... Mag-Pickup

Good luck

These users thanked the author SteveCourtright for the post: Rbello (Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:02 pm)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:20 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Freeman
Last Name: Keller
What Steve says - they are very different and you really don't want to try to combine them on the guitar so your idea of a stereo (two output) jack is the way to go. You plug a split cable into that - there are lots of options but it has a stereo plug (guitar) and two mono plugs. Each mono plug goes to one channel of an amp or to two different amps or possibly to a two channel preamp. You can also have some effects in one or the other channel. Basically you are bringing both signals out thru one hole in the guitar and going to two amps (or inputs)