Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:08 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Ryan
Last Name: Lustri
hey all, New here. hope I'm posting this in the right place, forgive me if not!
A quick background on myself...I have no experience, or schooling in luthierie, but I have some friends who do. and have become interested in it through them.

I purchased a used Les Paul Express with the intention of stripping it, refinishing it, and adding new hardware, however I have a few questions I'd like some input on!

first of all, when it comes to the paint job...I started by sanding it, priming it, and putting the base coat on. no problems there! however, I wanted to add a checker pattern in a section of the body. because it's a travel sized guitar I had to have smaller squares for the checker pattern, and found a roll of masking tape that was relatively thin in width (I believe about 3/4 inch). Now, I know I should have used painters tape but I figured this would do....it did not. the tape seemed to bleed through slightly in sections when I peeled it off. after checking numerous stores I've found that there is no painters tape of this width. my question is...is there any other tape I can use that wont bleed through without ruining the primary coat of the guitar?