PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:24 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Michael
Last Name: Perkins
City: Charleston
State: SC
Focus: Build
I have been an avid woodworker... so I thought, anyway... for 20+ years. Now, however, that I am trying to build guitars, I am really starting to realize how often "good enough" will work for building furniture, but simply won't work for guitars. At least, that is the impression I get from books, videos, and forums.

I have a really really nice neck blank on my bench right now. I've already cut off 7.5" at an 11-degree angle to create the scarf joint for a back-angled headstock. I used an angle jig that I made, and ran it over my nice 3 HP table saw. The cut looks smooth, with no real gnarley saw tooth marks, or burns or any other blade marks... but, in every video I've seen on YouTube, when the guy cuts the scarf joint, he always flips it around and sticks it to the neck using double-sided tape, and then uses a block plane, or sometimes even a jointer, so make sure that the cut is exactly the same angle on the headstock off-cutt, and the neck. I don't have either of those things.

Even if I did have a block plane... I have tried to use planes before, and I end up wrecking the surface way worse than it was before. Last night, I tried to double-sided tape the headstock to the neck, and run it up along my buddy's oscillating belt sander that has a steel plate behind the belt that is square to the table. I absolutely ruined it!!! Even though the belt was tracking correctly, and the oscillating bit was perfectly 90 degrees to the table... somehow, I must have pushed with uneven pressure (even though I was barely pushing at all), because it just sanded everything all out of wack. And the more I tried to correct and fix it, the worse it got. I think I can run it back across my table saw blade and get the two pieces at least back to where they were before, albeit 1/4 shorter or so. But what can I do then?