All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: cigar box thingy
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:19 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: chicagoland
State: illinois
Focus: Build
haven't decided what it is going to be yet...found a solid mahogany cigar box, making a mahogany neck, slotted some rosewood @ around 13" scale(i don't recall). this is all wood i had on hand, i'm sorta making it up as i go along. never built an acoustic instrument before so i'm worried about tension tearing it apart....yet i don't want to overbrace. heck it is just for fun though....
i've got some mandolin fretwire which i have never worked with before....any thoughts on radius? i'm prettymuch planning on 9.5"....or flat. which would be a better choice for such a small scale? i don't have any other radius blocks...

Post subject: Re: cigar box thingy
PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:09 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Patrick
Last Name: Hanna
State: Missouri
I think little instruments like this are a lot of fun. The only advice I can give (and my advice won't be worth much) is that four strings would put less stress on it than eight strings. And gut strings might be easier on the top than steel strings. But I'm sure you could brace it to handle almost any string configuration. How is the neck attached?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:58 am 
Koa
Koa

First name: Robert
Last Name: Renick
City: Mount Shasta
State: ca
Zip/Postal Code: 96067
Nice box, CBG's or I guess CBM's, or CBU's are a blast and a great way to get some building chops without spending a fortune. I would drift towards the ukelele version. Less tension, 4 strings destined for an open tuning. Have fun, learn something and apply what you learned to the next. Definitely keep posting pics of this though. Thanks for posting.
Rob

http://www.facebook.com/robert.renick.7

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:51 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member