Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Justin
Last Name: North
City: Chattanooga
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37416
Focus: Build
This is my first build, so be gentle. I guess the best place to start is at the beginning, so that's where I'll start.

I have already joined the top (AAAA Western Red Cedar) and back (Sinker Mahogany) but didn't take any photos of that process. I used LMI white glue.

I just built myself a proper workbench for woodworking projects, especially instrument building.

Here's a pic with my son sitting on it.

Here's another with my homemade shooting board. Image

I need to thickness the top, back, and sides next. A friend of mine is Making me a bending iron using a CNC machine at work out of some solid 3" aluminum stock. Here's a pic of the first part he made.

I have some Sitka to cut for bracing, and since I don't have a band saw, I'm going to have to figure out how I'm going to pull that off.

I'll post more as it happens. I am in need of a lot of tools, but my birthday is towards the end of this month, and there's nothing but stuff from Woodcraft, LMI, and Home Depot on my wish list.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:18 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Joel
Last Name: Barbeau
City: Montreal
State: Quebec
JustinNorth wrote:
(...) and back (Sinker Mahogany) (...)

Well... you've got my attention there!

As for the brace wood, if your piece looks like it has straight grain you could try to split it close to size first, and then plane it to final size, although that might result in a lot of loss of material (and if the grain isn't very straight then forget about it you'll just be wasting the wood). If you're handy with a handsaw you could try using that. Draw lines of where you want to make the cut and follow them as best as you can, then clean/straighten it up with a plane.

Although, the sides of your benchtop look like they were run through a tablesaw... you could use that too.

Hope this helps [:Y:]