All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: motojerbear's build
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:38 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Jeremy
Last Name: Chambers
Focus: Build
Hey guys and gals, I'm jumping in as well! This forum and it's contributors has been a huge inspiration for me, and also a well of practical and priceless knowledge, so THANK YOU ALL! I've built an electric from scratch so I'm not sure if this counts as #1 or #2, but either way I'm ready to dive into the world of acoustic.

The only design criteria I've got nailed down so far is this:

1) will be completed using hand tools only. This is mainly because I work in construction and am busy with power tools all day long. I want to come home and take the ear plugs out [uncle] I built the electric mentioned above with only hand tools so I've got a clue as to what I'm in for! I did cheat and use a drill press for the tuner holes, but to compromise, I did unplug it and take the belt off the drive spindle, and spun the chuck by hand :mrgreen:

2) I will build all parts of the guitar from raw materials. This does include tuners and truss rod. I've got a few ideas how to make this work.

3) I'll be purchasing a top, back and sides set. I'll be counting these as raw materials, as re-sawing them by hand could be too much for my ability levels at the thicknesses involved.

As for fears and uncertainties, radius-ing the top and back, as well as neck angle reign high on the list. My electric build was rather complex in design, (as I'm sure this axe will be :roll: ) and I made a huge but simple miscalculation in top height. Luckily it was an electric, so I just shimmed the (fully adjustable) bridge up. I will not have that luxury on this one.

So with that, I'm hitting the drawing board and looking for a good top, back and sides online. Good luck everyone!!!!

Post subject: Re: motojerbear's build
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:54 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Zeke
Last Name: McKee