Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 10:32 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Chuck's first Build L-00
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:23 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

Focus: Build
OK this is going to be my first build. I plan to build a Gibson L-00 or as close as I can get given this is my first attempt at a guitar. I have the plan. I have finished building the bending machine and plan to use 3 200 watt bulbs for heat and I have just completed the two molds.

I bought some maghogany for back and sides for 10 dollars each and I got a piece of maghogany also at 10 dollars for the neck. I have a piece of Sitka spruce for the top and most likely will use Sitka spruce for the bracing.

I am going to need lots of help both in building this guitar from scratch and also with posting pictures as my computer skills are very limited, don't know how to post pictures,etc. I will be building the jigs as I go along also.

I am in the general Seattle area and I am wonderinng if there are other folks who will be building in this area so we could put our heads together if we get stuck. I know there will be many forum members who will be willing to help also.

This should be really fun, Thanks for the opportunity to do this,
Chuck

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:43 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Casey
Last Name: Cochran
City: Gainesville
State: GA
Zip/Postal Code: 30501
Yes, tooling/jigging up is quite time consuming. My daughter's guitar took about a year and a half because I was building jigs when I got to the point I needed them. Number 2 is moving much more quickly. This forum is great because so many people share their methods and there are so many different ways to skin the cat- radiusing a fretboard for instance. I looked at several different jigs for each operation and chose to build the ones that I understood clearly and was confident in my ability to build and use. Good luck with your build!