Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:40 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Todd
Last Name: Johnson
I inherited this 1940-ish fairly cheap wartime-patriot themed archtop. I don't know who made it, and I doubt it has much value, even to collectors of these types due to the damage on the top.

The neck has a serious bow and I don't see an adjustable truss rod so I assume it has a steel reinforcement bar instead, or perhaps nothing. Can this much bow be fixed?

pictures here: https://www.dropbox.com/sc/fi1y0oz7sxrdlpn/Mna8SvI1bk

I've never worked on an acoustic guitar before and this might be a great learning project. I'm pretty handy with wood, grew up in my father's woodwork shop. I've been reading a lot and watching lots of videos about acoustic repairs and I'd like to take a stab at it.

Your thoughts?

..Todd

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 8:06 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Big
Last Name: Jim
State: Deep in the heart of Bluegrass
Focus: Build
Yes it can be fixed . My thoughts would be to remove the neck and take fret board off , using steam and a clamp slowly bring it back to flat . Then I would route a channel and install carbon fiber rod to help it stay flat . Reapply fret board and reset the neck ...

That having all been said ... I'M NOT A PRO . Someone else may chime in here with a much better approach

Forgiveness is the ability to accept an apology that you will probably NEVER GET
The truth will set you free , But FIRST, it will probably Piss you Off !
Creativity is allowing yourself to make Mistakes, Art is knowing which ones to Keep !
The Saddest thing anyone can do , is push a Loyal Person to the point that they Dont Care Anymore
Never met a STRONG person who had an EASY past !
http://wiksnwudwerks.blogspot.com/
http://www.facebook.com/groups/GatewayA ... rAssembly/

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 12:37 pm 
Walnut
Walnut