Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 1:29 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Hi everybody :)
I am not very experienced with guitar building but I am a traditional boatbuilder, I have been working with wood & composites for over 35 years.
I recently got into tenor guitars & bought a 1962 Harmony Monterey Leader 950 tenor guitar a few days ago.
It had collapsed F holes but on closer inspection I found it had loose braces so I took the top off.
Anyway I gave it a complete rebuild including a new fretboard however it sounds awful!!
I now realise that these were never very good sounding.
So first of all why does it sound so dull?
What can I do?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 6:19 pm 
Koa
Koa

First name: Patrick
Last Name: Hanna
State: Missouri
Let's establish this up front: I'm no expert on Harmony instruments. Many, many years ago, I was given a Regal archtop with a broken neck and a delaminated plywood top that was coming unglued. I took off the back, checked he braces (did not replace them), put it back together, re-laminated the top and rebound it. Also made a new neck. It sounded awful for a while. But the more I played it, the better it sounded. Never like a high end, carved top arch top, you understand. But better. Ergo, my advice: Play the heck out of it for as many times a day as you can stand to do so and repeat the process for a few weeks. That's a pretty big body on your tenor. Maybe go with a slightly heavier gauge set of strings than you are using at the moment. One way or the other, if you are lucky, it'll start sounding better. I sure hope it does. I think it's a pretty instrument. Just my take on things. I hope it turns out okay for you.

These users thanked the author cphanna for the post: Foxfish (Fri May 30, 2014 12:51 am)

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 12:50 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Thanks for your input [:Y:]