Walnut

First name: Raymond
Last Name: Chew
City: Richmond
State: BC
Zip/Postal Code: V6Y 3J1
Focus: Repair
Hi Everyone...

First off, I'd like to say I'm new to guitar work so please excuse the newbie questions. I've been doing setups on my own guitars and am now going to take the plunge into fret dressing. As a result, I find myself having to acquire some specialized tools. After much research, I decided to purchase a diamond offset crowning file. However, I did not buy it from THE large supplier (cough...SM). Since I don't intend on making any money from this work, I decided to save a few bucks and purchased it from one of the smaller suppliers instead. Anyway, I received it and upon inspection, was surprised to discover that the tool had a severe curve along the flat plane. If I lay the tool against a flat glass surface, I could probably slip a credit card under it. The retailer was kind enough to exchange it for me but the replacement also exhibits a curve, albeit much less pronounced. Before I reach out to the retailer again, I was wondering if someone here who might have the same tool can tell me if this is normal. I just don't have the experience to know if this is going to be a problem when I'm crowning frets.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Ray

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:14 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Leo
Last Name: Pedersen
City: Bowen Island
State: British Columbia
Zip/Postal Code: V0N 1G2
Focus: Build
Can you post a pic?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:47 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

Here you go. The first picture is the replacement file I received. The second one is the original one which has now been sent back. As you can see, the replacement is much better. Unfortunately, when I took that shot, it was already dark out. I put a flashlight behind it so you can see some light peeking through. The files are sitting on a precision ground fret leveling beam so it should be straight.

Ray