Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:28 am 
Walnut
Walnut

Hi everyone, I’ve been lurking around here for several months, but this is my first time posting. You’ve got a great community of very talented people here, and the fact that everyone seems so willing to share is inspiring! I don’t build guitars, but I have done some complete (solidbody) refrets and fingerboard replacements, made nuts etc. I've repaired a few minor cracks, and done many setups, electronic jobs and fret dresses on my own guitars and those of friends.

Anyway, a cracked headstock on an inexpensive Chinese guitar of mine is about to provide me with some more repair experience. Due to the nature of the crack, I have a few questions and am wondering what the best method of approaching the repair is.

The crack starts at the nut below the fingerboard, and runs about 3” or so down each side of the neck.
Attachment:
Top Side.jpg

Attachment:
Under Side.jpg

Attachment:
Nut Removed.jpg

The shonky plastic factory nut popped off easily, but the crack had already taken the small piece in the middle of the nut shelf above the truss rod. I saved the chipped piece. If I pull the headstock back to open the crack, it only wants to open up about 1 - 1.5mm, or .040” - .060” before it feels like I’m risking splitting it further.

What glue would you use for this situation, and what's the most effective way to get it in there? Do I just try and get as much Titebond in there with a feeler gauge as I can, trying to avoid the truss rod? Or wick some thin CA as far down as I can first?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 12:57 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Alex
Last Name: Kleon
City: Whitby
State: Ontario
Zip/Postal Code: L1N8X2
Focus: Build