Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:03 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

My brother apparently trusted in my luthier ability enough (WTF?) to ship me his 12 string Seagull, Model 29358, Coastline S-12 Cedar, as seen here;
http://www.seagullguitars.com/seagull_c ... cedar.html,
from MN to AZ.

He claimed it had a broken truss rod, and I have zero experience with 12-strings.

When it arrived, the up-bow on the neck was 1/2" from fretboard to strings. So I tuned it to 440, then put an allen key into the sound hole and gave it a couple clock-wise cranks. This helped much with the action, and I am sure the truss is working in this direction. But if you click on the link above, you will see that the company claims that this guitar has a dual-action truss rod; and if it exists, I am unaware of how it functions. I put 1 crank into the truss before it did anything at all, so I am sure it was very loose.

Even though this guitar has only been here a couple days and the climate differences between the two states are great, I've loosened the strings to next to zero tension, but still have to crank the truss up to it's very tightest limits to make the fretboard get even close to straight, which it's not.

I thought I would let it hang for a couple weeks for it to acclimatize, but right off the bat I am thinking something isn't right, even for the cheapest 12 string you can buy.
Should the truss adjustment need to be this tight right now?
Could the string gauge be too high, or could the truss rod be too light and over-powered? Is this just a poorly designed and built guitar?
He obviously loosened the truss (rod making his action worse, which is why he sent it to me), and he told me it did sit in this condition for 10 months before he shipped to me.

Thoughts?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:56 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Chris