It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:41 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Grant
Pardon the noob post, but the title says it all. This is my first build, first time shaping a neck. I knew that I didnt have a lot of meat on the bone to work with, as I accidentally went a bit too deep with the truss rod channel. Instead of filling it, I soldiered on and figured it would be fine. Guess not, lesson learned. The fretboard is already glued on with TB and the truss rod (hotrod) is only lightly secured in place with a little CA on the block ends and a small shim above to prevent any rattling when the CA eventually comes loose. Ignore the ugly "volute" (if I can even really call it that).

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:46 pm 
Koa
Koa

I’ve done it.
Thats means carving a new neck imo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

These users thanked the author SnowManSnow for the post: grantmefood (Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:58 pm)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:55 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Dan
Last Name: Smith
City: Round Rock
State: TX
Zip/Postal Code: 78681
Focus: Build
Same here using the SM hot rod.
The hot rod takes up too much vertical height and requires an odd sized router bit to create the channel.
A standard two-way rod is the way to go.
I tried to repair my mistake and finally gave up.
Best of luck!

These users thanked the author dzsmith for the post: grantmefood (Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:58 pm)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2022 8:56 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

SnowManSnow wrote:
I’ve done it.
Thats means carving a new neck imo