Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2022 7:23 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: Thomas
Last Name: T
Focus: Build
I spent about 8 months off-and-on building my first guitar. Admittedly, most of my time was spent learning so I expect to go much faster on the next two, which are already underway.

I don't know why, but I decided to share some of my experience. Anyway, I made a few mistakes, but everything was "good enough" or fixable until the very end. It's not worth discussing most of the fixable mistakes that sometimes took an entire week to fix, because they were all great learning experiences. Hell, for that matter, the unfixable ones are too, I suppose.

I'll preface by saying that I have never done woodworking before deciding to build a guitar, but I was rebuilding carburetors on my lawnmower when I was 12 and car engines by 21. I now have multiple patents in an unrelated industry. I say that not to brag, but to say I know how to figure things out. Admittedly, I'm a bit of a perfectionist and I should have been happy with what I had until the very end when tragedy struck. In spite of everything, the guitar plays and sounds as good as anything I have and I have some of the best guitars made by Martin/Taylor/Gibson. I intend to use and enjoy it for a long time. It sounds almost identical to my J45, which was my second favorite guitar.

Big Mistake #1 - Bind channel not cut properly at the top of the back. Pretty sure I know how to handle that next time. And I bought the Elevate binding jig as well. I'm not too impressed by the one I got from Stewmac.