PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2023 4:03 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Karl
Last Name: Borum
State: MO
Zip/Postal Code: 63303
Focus: Build
This is my third nitrocellulose lacquer job so I’m not an expert. I am pretty good at having gaps in rosette and putting nicks in white tops though. My problem has always been leveling after the drop fills with lacquer or with Glu Boost CA. Sand through was always a problem. I wanted to share what I’ve learned this morning. The most common problem I’ve encountered in fixing them is, they look smooth, but when build coast are added, there are still bumps. Three methods I used this morning has taken away all the anxiety (most anyway) in doing drop fills.

1. My luthier buddy Joe Mendel of Mendel Stringed Instruments in St. Louis recommended a small wooden sanding block. I made one this morning out of scrap tone wood. It’s small, easy to grip, easy to control and easy to bias. The results were amazing when sanding down drop fill bumps. I attached P400 pressure sensitive to the bottom:
Attachment:
588CA7CB-903F-4021-83E3-DF118E0DDC9C.jpeg

Attachment:
BDEC744A-A6E1-4358-9CD5-DD19F1A583E9.jpeg

2. The second thing I’ve learned is to drop one or maybe two lacquer fills, then level sand BEFORE adding more lacquer. This prevents the 10 drop lacquer hump and shows exactly where the next drop needs to be. I had been doing 8-10 brush on session before sanding, creating more work, and bigger humps.

3. Lastly, I modified the scotch tape razor blade method. In addition to the scotch razor blade, you place a strip of scotch tape on either side of the hump, (works great on a long gap along binding too) the material removal is hyper focused on the hump and won’t remove ANY of the surrounding material. After scraping with razor blade and tape, switch to sanding block until you start sanding into the tape (P400 grit). Remove the tape strips from the wood and finish sand with the small block. A dozen light swipes is all it takes.