Walnut
Walnut

First name: Mike
Last Name: Beer
City: Highland
State: Michigan
Zip/Postal Code: 48356
Hello everyone!

I'm new to woodworking but have a background in auto body. I've been dabbling in guitar repair/finishing on a '93 MIM Squire I bought new as a kid. My first real "working man" purchase! haha. Came out pretty darn good if I do say so myself.

Came across a heck of a deal on a '93 LP Studio. Looks like someone did a pretty poor job trying to relic it, or had a chronic scratching problem? I'm exploring the options of either repairing the damage or stripping and refinishing the whole thing. I'd prefer to repair because there is some pretty cool natural checking that I'd like to retain. The question I have is any suggestions on how to match the original color? Wine Red is what I believe Gibson referred to it as back then? Stripping and refinishing is obviously the easy solution because I can pick any color I want then. But I really like this wine red, and maybe swap out with cream plastics?

For repair, my plan was to either stain the bare wood then fill with lacquer and level sand, wet sand, and polish. Or go the tinted lacquer route. The back of the neck looks pitted for lack of a better term so I was going to use a dark grain fill first and then procced with the lacquer work.

Tips? Thoughts? Suggestions? How would you go about it?

Also kicking around the idea of adding a binding to the body, but I haven't see any good way of doing it without removing the neck.

Appreciate the input, and thanks,
Mike

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2022 10:44 am 
Old Growth Brazilian Rosewood

First name: Hesh
Last Name: Breakstone
City: Ann Arbor