PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 3:24 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

First name: Karl
Last Name: Borum
State: MO
Zip/Postal Code: 63303
Focus: Build
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: How to remove oily tropical wood gunk from drum sander belt- use Windex.

Method:
With belt removed (after replacing a gunked up belt) spray a 3x4” area of totally-impacted-cannot-remove-by-any-means- area with window cleaner. Place a piece of plastic/ saran wrap over it, and a block of wood on top to hold it in place. Let it sit for 1-24 hours. Scrape off the gunk with a sanding stick with 80 grit PS. Burned resin will almost jump off the belt. I used a blue “windexesque” window cleaner from the $1.25 store. Belt was cleanable either wet or dry, but dry was cleaner and more effective. I haven't tried Windex on-the-drum yet.

Discussion:
I’m new to the thickness sander, having purchased a new 19/38 drum sander last fall. I was familiar with the nuisance of embedded resin muck on the belt from reading countless reviews on the sanders and abrasives. Belt gunk has even been a topic here on the OLF. During use I took light passes and rubber sticked the factory belt it came with (labeled with “TJA” in a triangle). I dug out virtually every piece of gunk after every session using razor blades, scribes, file cards, scotchbrite, abrasives and even tried acrylic while the drum was spinning. A scalpel of corner of razor blade worked best but was very time consuming. I’m not selling guitars yet and I’m already down five $ figures in tools and equipment so money is not in surplus yet. Every method I tried to eliminate/ reduce burned debris was less than satisfying.

I really gunked it up after using a finger board radius jig for the belt sander for the first time. This time, the belt would not come clean. After several hours of determination I threw in the towel and replaced the paper, but retained the belt to find a de-gunk method that worked better.