Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Mon Jun 03, 2024 5:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:57 am 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

Hi everyone--

Another question from a *brand* newbie here... I've just found out what WAS is, courtesy of our friend Lance. :-)

So, Now I want to start preparing for a year or so from now when I hope to have a house with a workshop. (Hey, I'm 26, so I gotta start planning *sometime*, right?)

Meanwhile, I'm in an apartment. That said, I want to start watching out for great sets for back and sides and tops. When I find a set that I want to hang on to, how should I go about storing this? I guess I'm really asking what I need to do to/for the wood to maintain its integrity? What about temperature/humidity levels? I'll take any and all advice here, be it something I've asked or something I haven't thought of. Especially suggestions for sets/species I should be putting away now, while I can and while the "getting is good."

Thanks to everyone once again!

John C.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:16 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

When you first get it either lean it separated against the walls for 2 to 3 weeks or sticker it for that long.

Then.... Stack it for storage. This is if the wood is dry. If it's green, sticker it with a fan on it for a few days, then leave it stickered for an extended period, preferably with a weight on top for extra holding power if wood is trying to curl.

RH needs to be held constant around 45%. But get as close as you can and don't worry too much about it. Hopefully you know what stickering is?   

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:20 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

Sorry to be so ignorant here, but when you say "sticker" it, what exactly do you mean?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:25 pm 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Dear John, always wanted to say that...