Official Luthiers Forum!

Owned and operated by Lance Kragenbrink
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 6:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:03 am 
Mahogany
Mahogany

Good Morning

Ok after many, many hours in Rhino I admit defeat.
I have been teaching myself Rhino for a few years now and drawn
up a couple of guitars. I find it a great tool for thinking things through.
While I'm getting reasonably proficient at it, I hit a wall whenever I get
to the volute area. As in the example below, I have been able to produce
a facsimile of what I'm looking for, but to be honest I can't even remember
how I arrived there. Curve network would appear to be the way to go, but
I think I am missing some very basic information.
My goal would be to able to play with the design of this area.

Up until now I've not looked at using CNC, but a good friend has built himself
a CNC (4'x8') and I'd like to try some necks on it, so I'm redrawing my neck with
that purpose in mind.

Trevor's great tute helped me a lot in refining the heel area, but I don't think the
transition at the head applies to my situation (or I'm too dumb to figure out how
to apply it)

Any thoughts or ideas welcomed.

Here's a drawing I did about 2 years ago.
Attachment:
Transition.jpg

I've made quite a few guitars with this design and fairing with hand tools seems
to kind of naturally work out, but I find drawing it a bear!
Attachment:
transition2.jpg

Here's some things I've tried.
As it is required that the curves in the network cross each other, I joined 2 curves
to make it work
Attachment:
Square_a.jpg

The resulting surface mirrored across the centre line
Attachment:
Square_b.jpg

Here I radiused the upper corner.
Attachment:
Round_a.jpg

The result looks better but no idea how to resolve the unfinished part.
Attachment:
Round_b.jpg

I can't help but think that part of what I'm missing is that there's an issue with tangency.