Walnut
Walnut

First name: Jack
Last Name: Ellis
City: Salford
State: Greater Manchester
Focus: Repair
Right then,

Im a luthier and i want to know how to create these compensated nuts. Who knows how? Its just the increments that you have to use is what im puzzled.

There's no way I'm going to bother getting trained by buzz feiten. is my best bet to obtain one from Earvana or old buzz and just copy it?

Im guessing that its never going to be that simple - every guitar's different and all that.

Any thoughts on this?
Never made one so far but i'd love to try. and out of bone of course

Cheers in advance,
Jack

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:06 am 
Brazilian Rosewood
Brazilian Rosewood

Here you go:

http://www.mimf.com/nutcomp/

Some folks simply figure out what works for them, and it tends to be anything from .5 to 1 mm shaved off the nut end of the fingerboard for accebtable global adjustment.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:57 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Darren
Last Name: Forbes
Focus: Build
Hey there,

I am a certified Buzz Feiten installer( http://www.buzzfeiten.com/dealers/canada/canadask.htm )for all stringed instruments and, in my humble opinion, it was worth every penny of the training. There is science behind the ratio of compensation and the consideration of string tension and scale length. There is also a different method of setting the intonation based on Buzz's design. I know there are all sorts of interesting ways that folks try and improve a flawed system...Buzz Feiten is just one that happens to be a patent. I am, by no means, a master builder but I HEAR the difference.

Good luck.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:52 pm 
Koa
Koa

City: Tucson
State: AZ
Why the nut? Won't the very first fret cancel out all of that? I can only see this benefiting open strings.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:47 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Joey
Last Name: Holliday
City: Palmetto
State: Florida
Zip/Postal Code: 34221