It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 7:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: My First Build
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:07 pm 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Caullen
Last Name: Caldwell
Hello, I am new to this forum as I am new to Guitar building. So I'm introducing myself here as well as going to come right up front with my question.

I intend to build a strat style guitar, but am planning on building it with a mahogany body. Now my local hardwood store carries AFRICAN mahogany and it is a reasonable price, I think $7.15/bf. But another store near me carries Honduran mahogany, which I know to be the preferred of the two. But they are charging $44.00/bf and calling it music grade.

I play mostly blues and am looking to build something with a mellow/round tone without compromising/choking out the high end.

So first, I want to know exactly what the tonal differences are going to be between the two. Is there enough of a difference to justify paying for the Honduran mahogany?

Next, the music grade appears to only be different in that it is s4s instead of s3s, and seems to be cut a little more precise, but I am not sure as to whether or not there is really any tonal difference between the two. I mean, I have the equipment to plane and cut the wood exactly how I need it and if the only difference is that and nothing to do with sound then I can put the extra effort into prepping the wood myself.

So what I am asking is what the difference between music grade and furniture grade is?

Thanks for your answers I will probably frequent this website with the many questions that will arise during the build.

Sorry for being so long in my first post…

Post subject: Re: My First Build
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:09 pm 
Mahogany
Mahogany

First name: John
Last Name: McGee
City: Belleville
State: Illinois
Focus: Build
IN MY EXPERIENCE....

"Music grade" is all marketing.