All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:35 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Lance
Last Name: Wilkinson
Zip/Postal Code: 02360
Focus: Build
Hi everyone. I'm refinishing an old bass from the early 90s. A Galveston 5 String. I have a quick question on the neck - I have it stained already and sanded down to 400 grit. I was wondering on a finish for it?

Would it be okay to get it to around 600 and call it done? I'm thinking leaving it unfinished because I like the feel of the wood and I'm afraid a coating of some sort would inhibit easy movement up and down the neck.

If you can't tell, I've never done this before. Any advise would be great! Is it okay to leave it bare, stained and sanded wood? Or would the oils from fingers eventually absorb into it and damage it?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:44 am 
Old Growth Brazilian
Old Growth Brazilian

ecnal wrote:
Hi everyone. I'm refinishing an old bass from the early 90s. A Galveston 5 String. I have a quick question on the neck - I have it stained already and sanded down to 400 grit. I was wondering on a finish for it?

Would it be okay to get it to around 600 and call it done? I'm thinking leaving it unfinished because I like the feel of the wood and I'm afraid a coating of some sort would inhibit easy movement up and down the neck.

If you can't tell, I've never done this before. Any advise would be great! Is it okay to leave it bare, stained and sanded wood? Or would the oils from fingers eventually absorb into it and damage it?

Not putting a finish on it will lead to hand oil build up in the wood and any other contaminates you may expose it to like spilled beer or other alcohol which will cause splotching of the stain you have applied. Plus just the friction and wear of play will wear away the stain.