It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Be nice, no cussin and enjoy!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:42 pm 
Cocobolo
Cocobolo

Hi Guys!

It seems like many of you are getting both planes and thickness sander, and as a newbie I would like to understand why. I can see small trimming planes being used but don't understand why you would need larger ones when you have the thickness sander to do the same.
Perhaps it's my narrow understanding that planes are used for thicknessing and joining top/back only. So please help me understand.

couple more questions:
Is using plane to thickenss old technique that's fading away with new technology such as thickness sanders coming to play?

Do most of you use thickness sander to thickness your top/back, plane, or both?

I ask above questions for two reasons.

1. Subject of planes seems to be talked about regularly on the forum.
2. I live in apartment and using thickness sander will be difficult. This reality of mine will result in me to use handtool when ever possible.

Thank you, David

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:37 pm 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

First name: Steve
Last Name: Walden
City: Bartlesville
State: Oklahoma
Zip/Postal Code: 74006
Focus: Build
Hi David! The traditional thicknessing method, before the advent of the sander was the plane. From the other threads dealing with planes on this forum you can learn tips on setup and sharpening. The sander is just another way to save time and it does a very consistent job across the width of the plates if it is set up correctly, such as being sure the drum is parallel to the feed rollers.

It is your choice to use what you can afford. You may not be able to afford upset neighbors with loud machinery!!!!!! [headinwall] [headinwall]

By the way, welcome to the forum!

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:18 am 
Walnut
Walnut