It is currently Sun May 05, 2024 8:56 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:15 am 
Walnut
Walnut

First name: Alessandro
Last Name: Cardelli
Hello and happy new year to everyone!
I'm new to the forum and trying to setup an Epiphone LP.
I'm not a professional luthier though so I'm in doubt about what can be the cause of the problem.
Basically the problem is, when playing the notes one the high E, and only on that string, all is fine until the 19th fret.
Fret 19th and 20th make the same note as the 21th fret, than 21th and 22th sounds normally.
So what my mind suggest is that the cause is the height of the 21th fret. Probably it is to high and when pressing 19th or 20th the string actually make contact with the 21th, making a slightly buzzing 21th sound.
Am I right? Is this kind of problem usually resolved with fret leveling?

Please forgive my bad english

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:25 am 
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

City: Lenoir City
State: TN
Zip/Postal Code: 37772
Focus: Repair
Hi Alessandro, Happy New Year to you and welcome to the OLF. Your English sounds quite good, by the way.

I am not a pro but here are my thoughts. Hopefully one of the pros will recover from New Years Eve and give you some pointers.